Buhari appoints 8 new Supreme Court Justices, sends names to senate for confirmation

Ogunsakin Mustapha
1 Min Read
President Muhammadu Buhari of Nigeria

By Michael Ojo

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday sent eight names to the Senate for confirmation as Supreme Court Justices.

The letter read by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, at plenary said the appointment was based on the recommendations of the National Judicial Council (NJC).

Buhari said his action was “in pursuant to Section 231 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended and upon the advice of the National Judicial Council according to their ranking and seniority in the Court of Appeal.”

The nominees are, Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).

Others are, Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (South South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South South)

Buhari, also on Tuesday, sought the Senate approval for the appointment of non-career ambassadors designate.

They are Muhammad Manta (Niger) and Yesufu Yunusa (Yobe).

The nominees according to Buhari, would replace Air Commodore Peter Gana (retd.) and Alhaji Yusuf Muhammad  who were earlier nominated to the Senate for confirmation.

Dear readers, we really need your support to keep on serving you with authoritative, truthful, and juicy stories everyday. For your support, please reach out to the editor @gavelinternational66@gmail.com

Share This Article