Forum of Attorneys General elect Onigbanjo as Interim Chairman

Ogunsakin Mustapha
2 Min Read
Lagos State Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Moyosore Onigbanjo SAN

The Attorney’s General and Commissioners of Justice of all 36 states at its inaugural meeting held in Abuja on Monday elected the Attorney General of Lagos State, Moyosore Onigbanjo (SAN) as the interim Chairman of its executive committee.

The Forum of States Attorneys General also elected the Attorney General of Nassarawa State, Dr Karim Kana as Interim secretary.

Other elected members of the executive committee are the Rivers State AG, Prof. Zac Adangor (SAN), Abia State AG, Uche Ihediwa (SAN), Taraba State AG, Sam Adda and the Benue State AG, Micheal Gusa who were all chosen to represent their different zones.

The executive committee was elected to run the affairs of the Forum, lead the body of AG’s, arrange meetings, and issue statements on behalf of all 36 AGs.

The committee will also take positions on legal issues, advise the Attorney General of the Federation and take legal action or review legal actions taken on behalf of all States.

Part of its mandate also includes the pursuit of true federalism, adherence to the constitution, rule of law, independence of the judiciary, as well as liaison with the AGF on behalf of the states on legal issues.

Speakers at the maiden event includes the Governor of Plateau State who delivered the welcome address whilst a former Attorney General of the Federation, Kanu Agabi (SAN) delivered the keynote address.

The next meeting of the Attorneys General of the 36 States of the Federation will hold in Q2 of 2022.

Dear readers, we really need your support to keep on serving you with authoritative, truthful, and juicy stories everyday. For your support, please reach out to the editor

Share This Article