Buhari appoints new EFCC board, six years after

Ogunsakin Mustapha
1 Min Read

By Olalekan Awojodu

After six years without a board, President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday appointed the board of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission(EFCC) with George Abang Ekpungu as the Secretary of the board.

According to statement by the
Special Assistant on Media and Public Relations, to the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Dr Jibril Gwandu, the appointment is for a fresh tenure of five years.

Also appointed as board members of the commission are Luqman Muhammad (South South), Anumba Adaeze (South East), Alhaji Kole Raheem Adesina (North Central) and Alhaji Yahya Muhammad (North East).

The appointment, according to Dr Gwandu is in line with Section 2 (1) and Section 4 of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission Act, 2004.

According to the statement EFCC has been operating without Board Members since 2015.
President Buhari has already directed the forwarding the names for confirmation of the Senate.

Dear readers, we really need your support to keep on serving you with authoritative, truthful, and juicy stories everyday. For your support, please reach out to the editor @gavelinternational66@gmail.com

Share This Article