Buhari appoints new Military Service Chiefs

Ogunsakin Mustapha
2 Min Read

Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday finally bow to years of pressure. He sacked all service chiefs in the Nigerian Military.

According to presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina, “PMB appoints new Service Chiefs. Maj Gen LEO Irabor, CDS; Maj Gen I Attahiru, Army; Rear Adm AZ Gambo, Navy; AVM IO Alao, Air Force.

“He congratulated outgoing Service Chiefs on efforts to bring enduring peace to the country.”

Below is the full text of Adesina’s statement:

President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Dear readers, we really need your support to keep on serving you with authoritative, truthful, and juicy stories everyday. For your support, please reach out to the editor @gavelinternational66@gmail.com

Share This Article