Olanipekun heads 50 man Tinubu legal team

Ogunsakin Mustapha
5 Min Read
Chief Wole Olanipekun CFR, SAN

Nigeria’s President-Elect, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has assembled a 50 man team of lawyers, all Senior Advocates to defend his victory at the February 25, 2023 presidential poll. The team is headed by Nigeria foremost lawyer, Chief Wole Olanipekun SAN

At the inaugural meeting which held on Tuesday, 7th March, 2023, at the Ikoyi office of his lead counsel, Chief Wole Olanipekun, CFR, SAN, the President-Elect informed the team that the task before them was not just about defending his election, but was a task that had as its heart, the defence of democracy.

The President-elect, in his charge to his team of counsel, referred to the results of the presidential election, particularly those of Lagos and Katsina, respectively, the home States of himself and the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, citing them as erstwhile unthinkable outcomes that were only possible due to the free and fair nature of the election.  

Tinubu informed the team of his complete trust in their abilities, stating that over the years, he had worked with most of them in the course of his own defence of democracy and democratic institutions, and had complete faith in their ability to bring their wealth of knowledge, experience and diligence to bear in the defence of popular wish of the Nigerian people. Thereafter, he thanked them for their patriotism, altruism and selflessness. He was of the view that by volunteering to accept his instruction, they not only represented him, but the Nigerian people who clearly stated their choice, and to that extent, he commended the assemblage of senior counsel for their comity, camaraderie, collegiality, partnership and solidarity with the masses.  

In his remarks, Chief Wole Olanipekun, CFR, SAN, accepted the charge handed down by the President-Elect, noting that given the calibre of counsel gathered, it was not a question of leadership, but one of team work. He urged it upon all members of the team that the task before them was a solemn and sober one, and one they must execute by bringing every inch of their expertise to bear. He spoke on the enormity of the task, and insisted that as it has to do with the instrumentality of the law, the team was ready to extract, extricate and excavate any legal authority, no matter where they may be hidden in the world, in order to actuate the President-Elect’s instructions. 

Other counsel at the meeting, including but not limited to Prince Lateef Fagbemi, SAN, Mallam Yusuf, Ali, SAN, Tayo Oyetibo, SAN, Chief Niyi Akintola, SAN,  Chukwuma Ekomaru, SAN, Dr. Hassan Liman, SAN, Professor Dakas Dakas, SAN and Anthony Malik, SAN, also contributed to the meeting by recognising and aligning themselves with the solemnity of the task before them, and pledging to leave no stone unturned in effectuating the President-Elect’s mandate.

Also in attendance at the meeting were Babatunde Ogala SAN,  the All Progressives Congress’ Legal Adviser, Ahmad El-Marzuq, Life Bencher, and Festus Keyamo, SAN. In their contributions, they assured counsel of the Party’s support whenever required, and insisted on the sanctity of the President-Elect’s mandate.  

The members of the President-Elect’s legal team include:

Chief Wole Olanipekun, SAN,

Prince Lateef Fagbemi, SAN,

Chief Akin Olujimi, SAN 

Mallam Yusuf Ali, SAN 

Emmanuel Ukala, SAN 

Chief Afolabi Fashanu, SAN 

Prof. Konyinsola Ajayi, SAN 

Chief Niyi Akintola, SAN 

Prof. Taiwo Osipitan, SAN 

Tani Molajo, SAN  

 Tayo Oyetibo, SAN 

Mike Igbokwe, SAN 

Bayo Adelodun, SAN 

Oladele Adesina, SAN 

Oladipo Okpeseyi, SAN 

Lawal Pedro SAN 

Chukwuma Ekomaru, SAN 

Olasupo Shasore SAN  

Abiodun Owonikoko, SAN 

Dr. Hassan Liman, SAN 

Adesegun Ajibola, SAN 

Solomon Umoh, SAN 

Tunde Busari SAN  

Prof. Dakas Dakas, SAN 

Ogwu James Onoja SAN 

Prof. J. Olukayode Olatoke, SAN 

Chief Hakeem Afolabi, SAN 

Dr. Muiz Banire, SAN 

Oladapo Olanipekun, SAN 

A.U Mustapha, SAN 

Chief Yomi Aliyu, SAN 

Olusola Oke, SAN 

Kehinde Ogunwumiju, SAN 

Bode Olanipekun SAN 

Prof Lawan  Yusufari SAN 

Anthony Malik SAN 

Babatunde Ogala, SAN 

Funmi Quadri SAN 

Remi Olatubora, SAN   

Kunle Adegoke, SAN 

Abdul Mohammed Rafindadi, SAN 

Chief Anthony Adeniyi, SAN 

Marcel Oru, SAN 

M.A Abubakar, SAN Said Sanusi, SAN 

Adebayo Mutalubi Ojo, SAN 

Hanafin Mumin, SAN 

Prince Lukman Fagbemi, SAN 

Ahmad El-Marzuq, Esq  

Dear readers, we really need your support to keep on serving you with authoritative, truthful, and juicy stories everyday. For your support, please reach out to the editor @gavelinternational66@gmail.com

Share This Article