Tinubu’s Ministerial list: Fagbemi set to become next AGF

Ogunsakin Mustapha
3 Min Read
Prince Lateef Fagbemi SAN

Barring any last minute unforseen changes, senior lawyer, Prince Lateef Fagbemi SAN may become the the next Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice.

Fagbemi’s name is one of the 28 names that  President Bola Ahmed Tinubu on Thursday sent to the Senate for screening and confirmation according to the dictates of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The Senate President Godswill Akpabio read the names on the floor of the Senate during plenary on Thursday.

Some immediate past governors including Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna State, Nyesom Wike of Rivers State and David Umahi of Ebonyi state made the cut.

Fagbemi is the most senior lawyer on the list. A non politically exposed lawyer, he is one of the most experienced constitutional lawyer in Nigeria who can withstand pressure from any quarters. He is also well respected in the comity of lawyers in Nigeria. Although a prominent lawyer to the All Progressives Congress(APC) in the ongoing election petition cases, his integrity and professional commitment to democracy, rule of law, and constitutionalism is not in doubt.

Prince Lateef Fagbemi SAN

Fagbemi was born on June 22, 1956, in Ijagbo, Kwara State. He began his career after his was call to Bar at Chief Afe Babalola SAN’s Emmanuel Chambers where he rose to the position of Deputy Head of Chambers. He is one of the longest serving alumni of Emmanuel Chambers. He was conferred with the prestigious rank of SAN in 1996, at the age of 30 years. He was then the youngest Nigerian to attain the feat. He later founded his own law firm, Temitope Chambers in Ibadan, Oyo State, a stone throw to the chambers of his mentor, Chief Age Babalola, the Aare Bamofin of Yorubaland.

The 28 Ministerial Nominees

• Abubakar Momoh
• Ambassador Yusuf Miatama Tukur CON
• Arch. Ahmed Dangiwa
• Barr. Hannatu Musawa
• Chief Uche Nnaji
• Dr. Berta Edu
– Dr. Dorris Aniche Uzoka
– H.E. David Umahi
– H.E. Nyesom Wike
– H.E. Badaru Abubakar CON
– H.E. Nasiru Ahmed Elrufai
– Rt. Hon. Ekperipe Ekpo
– Hon. Nkiru Onyeojiocha
– Hon. Olubunmi Tunji Ojo
– Hon. Stella Okotette
– Hon. Uju Kennedy Ohaneye
– Mr. Bello Muhammad G.
– Mr. Dele Alake
– Mr. Lateef Fagbemi SAN
– Mr. Muhammad Idris
– Mr. Olawale Edun
– Mr. Waheed Adebayo Adelabu
– Mrs Iman Suleiman Ibrahim
– Professor Ali Pate
– Professor Joseph
– Senator Abubakar Kyari
– Senator John Eno
– Senator Sani Abubakar Danladi

Dear readers, we really need your support to keep on serving you with authoritative, truthful, and juicy stories everyday. For your support, please reach out to the editor @gavelinternational66@gmail.com

Share This Article