Electronic Transmission of votes divide Senate

There was a division on the floor of the Senate on Thursday (today) as senators take sides over the adoption of electronic voting by the Independent National Electoral Commission on election day.
The division started when the red chamber attempted to amend Clause 52 (3) of the new Electoral Act to allow the Nigerian Communications Commission(NCC) to approve that, there is a good network across the states for the adoption of electronic voting during elections.
Senators were called one by one to vote. Starting the poll is Senator Orji Uzor Kalu of Abia State who voted “NO” for electronic voting, saying there is no network in his village.
Some senators, however, evaded the call and refused to vote while not stating the reason for abstaining. Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe was next and he voted ‘YES” for electronic voting. Deputy President of the Senate, Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege voted “NO” against electronic voting.
See below final vote figures on the adoption of Electronic Transmission of Election Results:
AYES: 28
NAYS: 52
Below is how senators voted for and against the acceptance of Electronic Transmission of Election Results:
Robert Ajayi Boroffice YES
Surajudeen Basiru NO
Adenugba Fadahunsi YES
Clifford Ordia YES
Matthew Urhoghide YES
Francis Alimikhena NO
Kola Balogun YES
Ezekiel Ayuba NO
Abubakar Kyari NO
Gyang Istifanus YES
Senator Gyagung Ladi NO
George Sekibo YES
Ali Ndume NO
Opeyemi Bamidele NO
Biodun Olujimi YES
Mpigi Barinada YES
Betty Apiafi YES
Gobir Abdullahi NO
Abdullahi Danbaba NO
Philip Aduda YES
Chukwuka Utazi YES
Mohammed Goje NO
Danbaba YES
Yusuf Yusuf NO
Isa Shuaibu Lau NO
Mohammed Goje NO
Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed NO
Francis Onyewuchi YES
Yau Sahabi NO
Uba Sani NO
Danjuma La’ah YES
Kabiru Gaya NO
Ishaku Elisha Abo NO
Baba Kaita NO
Adamu Aliero NO
Yahaya Abdullahi NO
Yakubu Oseni NO
Isa Jibrin NO
Smart Adeyemi NO
Ibrahim Oloriegbe NO
Oluremi Tinubu NO
Solomon Adeola NO
Tanko Al-Makura NO
Godiya Akwashiki NO
Abdullahi Adamu NO
Musa Mohammed Sani NO
Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi NO
Bima Enagi NO
Patrick Akinyelure YES

Dear readers, we really need your support to keep on serving you with authoritative, truthful, and juicy stories everyday. For your support, please reach out to the editor @[email protected]

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: